The Millionaires’ Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power

Amazon Price: $15.95 $15.95 (as of January 18, 2018 11:12 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockefeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags Of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

The Wright Brothers

Reviews of The Wright Brothers. The Wright Brothers – Kindle edition by David McCullough. Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets. Use features like bookmarks, note taking and highlighting while reading The Wright Brothers.. Buy online at Aviation Bookstore.

Amazon Price: N/A (as of January 19, 2018 6:48 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

#1 New York Times bestseller

Two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize David McCullough tells the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly: Wilbur and Orville Wright.
Continue reading “The Wright Brothers”

The Flight: Charles Lindbergh’s Daring and Immortal 1927 Transatlantic Crossing

Amazon Price: $28.99 $11.99 You save: $17.00 (59%). (as of January 19, 2018 5:37 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

"GRIPPING. … AN HOUR-BY-HOUR ACCOUNT." — WALL STREET JOURNAL • From one of the most decorated pilots in Air Force history comes a masterful account of Lindbergh’s death-defying nonstop transatlantic flight in Spirit of St. Louis

On the rainy morning of May 20, 1927, a little-known American pilot named Charles A. Lindbergh climbed into his single-engine monoplane, Spirit of St. Louis, and prepared to take off from a small airfield on Long Island, New York. Despite his inexperience—the twenty-five-year-old Lindbergh had never before flown over open water—he was determined to win the $25,000 Orteig Prize promised since 1919 to the first pilot to fly nonstop between New York and Paris, a terrifying adventure that had already claimed six men’s lives. Ahead of him lay a 3,600-mile solo journey across the vast north Atlantic and into the unknown; his survival rested on his skill, courage, and an unassuming little aircraft with no front window.
Continue reading “The Flight: Charles Lindbergh’s Daring and Immortal 1927 Transatlantic Crossing”

Howard’s Whirlybirds: Howard Hughes’s Amazing Pioneering Helicopter Exploits

Amazon Price: $29.95 $23.23 You save: $6.72 (22%). (as of January 19, 2018 12:39 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Howard Hughes, movie mogul, aviation pioneer and political hound dog, has always fascinated the public, yet his legacy involving the aviation industry is often under appreciated. Hughes Helicopters was one of America's pioneering aviation companies, but few have heard of it. It mass produced the first turbine-powered light observation helicopter, popularized the light helicopter trainer, tested a gigantic 'tip-jet' powered flying crane, and developed the world's most advanced attack helicopter, the iconic Apache. It also came under extremely close scrutiny by the US Congress. From the Second World War to the mid- 1980s, Howard's Whirlybirds tells how many of the world's most innovative helicopters were developed – the setbacks, the breakthroughs, the brilliance of the company's engineers and the test-flying bravado of fearless pilots – under the leadership of one of the most fascinating characters of the twentieth century. It aims to put Hughes Helicopters in its rightful place, at the forefront of America's aeronautical history.

The Bomb (City Lights Open Media)

Amazon Price: $8.95 $8.32 You save: $0.63 (7%). (as of January 18, 2018 11:08 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

As a World War II combat soldier, Howard Zinn took part in the aerial bombing of Royan, France. Two decades later, he was invited to visit Hiroshima and meet survivors of the atomic attack. In this short and powerful book, Zinn offers his deep personal reflections and political analysis of these events, their consequences, and the profound influence they had in transforming him from an order-taking combat soldier to one of our greatest anti-authoritarian, antiwar historians. This book was finalized just prior to Zinn's passing in January 2010, and is published on the sixty-fifth anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima.

Simultaneous publication this August in the U.S. and Japan commemorates the 65th anniversary of the USA's two atomic bombings of Japan by calling for the abolition of all nuclear weapons and an end to war as an acceptable solution to human conflict.
Continue reading “The Bomb (City Lights Open Media)”