Crossing the Line: A Bluejacket’s Odyssey in World War II (Yale Library of Military History)

Reviews of Crossing the Line: A Bluejacket’s Odyssey in World War II (Yale Library of Military History). Crossing the Line: A Bluejacket's Odyssey in World War II (Yale Library of Military History) – Kindle edition by Alvin B. Kernan. Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets. Use features like bookmarks, note taking and highlighting while reading Crossing the Line: A Bluejacket's Odyssey in World War II (Yale Library of Military History).. Buy online at Aviation Bookstore.

Amazon Price: N/A (as of December 16, 2017 9:00 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

In this memoir of life aboard aircraft carriers during World War II, Alvin Kernan combines vivid recollections of his experience as a young enlisted sailor with a rich historical account of the Pacific war. Kernan served in many battles and was aboard the Hornet when it was sunk by torpedoes in the Battle of the Santa Cruz Islands.
“One of the most arresting naval autobiographies yet published.”—Sir John Keegan
“An honest story of collective courage, evocative, well-written, and fixed before the colors fade.”—Kirkus Reviews
“[Kernan] recounts a wonderful and exciting American story about a poor farm boy from Wyoming who enlisted in the Navy. . . .[He] has written eight other books. I will go back and read them all.”—John Lehman, Air & Space
“Details . . . make the moment vivid; that is what it was like, on the Hornet in its last hours.”—Samuel Hynes, New York Times Book Review

Wings Of Morning: The Story Of The Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany In World War II

Amazon Price: $18.00 $12.93 You save: $5.07 (28%). (as of December 17, 2017 8:34 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

On April 21, 1945, the twelve-member crew of the Black Cat set off on one of the last air missions in the European theater of World War II. Ten never came back. This is the story of that crew—where they came from, how they trained, what it was like to fly a B-24 through enemy flak, and who was waiting for them to come home.Historian Thomas Childers, nephew of the Black Cat's radio operator, has reconstructed the lives and tragic deaths of these men through their letters home and through in-depth interviews, both with their families and with German villagers who lived near the crash site. In so doing he unearths confusion about the exact number of crash survivors and ugly rumors of their fate at the hands of the German villagers. His search to determine what really happened leads him to the crash site outside of Regensburg to lay the mystery to rest.In the tradition of Young Men and Fire, Wings of Morning is history as commemoration-an evocation of people and events that brings to life a story of love, loss, and a family's quest for truth.

The Wrong Stuff : The Adventures and Misadventures of an 8th Air Force Aviator

Amazon Price: $19.95 $13.18 You save: $6.77 (34%). (as of December 17, 2017 8:59 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Between April and July 1944, Truman Smith Flew thirty-five bombing missions over France and Germany. He was only twenty years old. Although barely adults, Smith and his peers worried about cramming a lifetime’s worth of experience into every free night, each knowing he probably would not survive the next bombing mission. Written with blunt honesty, wry humor, and insight, The Wrong Stuff is Smith’s gripping memoir of that time. In a new preface, the author comments with equal honesty and humor on the impact this book has had on his life.

Wings of a Hero: Canadian Pioneer Flying Ace Wilfrid “Wop” May

Reviews of Wings of a Hero: Canadian Pioneer Flying Ace Wilfrid “Wop” May. Wings of a Hero: Canadian Pioneer Flying Ace Wilfrid Wop May [Sheila Reid] on . *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. Wop May? Does this name sound familiar? Well, it should.

The man in question is Wilfrid Wop May – noted on the record as the pilot who led the famous Red Baron on his last merry chase before Roy Brown shot him down. Buy online at Aviation Bookstore.

Amazon Price: $17.95 (as of December 17, 2017 11:17 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Wop May? Does this name sound familiar? Well, it should.

The man in question is Wilfrid "Wop" May – noted on the record as the pilot who led the famous Red Baron on his last merry chase before Roy Brown shot him down, and probably less well known for his pioneering flights into the Canadian hinterland.
Continue reading “Wings of a Hero: Canadian Pioneer Flying Ace Wilfrid “Wop” May”